Oregon Payday Loan Law and Legislation

MaxLoan Amount:25%*
* 25% of the consumer's gross monthly income

In the state of Oregon payday lending is legal.

It is regulated by 54 Or. Rev. Stat. § 725A.010 et seq. The lending industry is growing amazingly fast here. There are about 453 payday loan companies in the state.

  • According to the state laws, the limit for loan term is 60 days while the minimum term is 31 day.
  • Oregon sets a limit of $50,000 for a maximum loan amount (or up to 25% of borrower's net monthly income when income < $60,000 annually.)
  • However, there is a restriction of 36% APR interest; and APR for a $100 loan given for a period of 31 days cannot exceed 154%.



There is no limitation to a number of loans that a person can apply for; however, there should be a cooling-off period of 7 days between 2 consecutive loans. Loans can be rolled over twice in Oregon. Lenders are forbidden to take any criminal actions against borrowers, civil trials, however, are legal. In case of the check return due to NSF, a fee of $20 is charged plus other bank charges.

To find the information about payday lenders of the state you may visit www.doj.state.or.us or phone the Attorney General's office. The payday loans business is regulated by the state, and a number of lenders have already lost licenses because they have violated state laws in terms of registration and licensing. These lenders cannot offer their services anymore in Oregon.

More information about Payday Loans in Oregon: www.doj.state.or.us

Recent Blog Posts